UF Ethics MMC 6936 Introduction

Hello to all! I’m looking forward to reading and responding to many of your blog posts (and reading reactions) again this semester, as well as getting to know some new “virtual faces” through this course. This is my third semester in the program (first using Canvas – eek, I think many of us are together on that one) and I truly enjoy the diversity that I have come to find among my peers. I believe this will be particularly interesting in an ethics class and can’t wait to hear all our differing opinions and share in some friendly conversations.

If you would like to learn a little bit more about me personally and/or connect on social media, hop on over to my About Me blog that was created at the start of the program. In a nutshell:

  • I’m a Gator grad (undergrad)
  • I reside in Gainesville where my husband of a year and a half is originally from
  • Our “baby girl” is a Goldendoodle named Bella
  • I’m the Marketing Coordinator (yes, it includes social media responsibilities) for an independent insurance agency in Gainesville, FL that sells home, auto, business and health insurance (McGriff-Williams Insurance)…thrilling, right?

IMG_3621

I’m all about transparency online, so please feel free to reach out or ask me questions. That being said, I’m not one of those people that posts all their opinions online because I feel as if we’re all entitled to our own…and shouldn’t be victim to others on a constant basis. Which brings me to why ethics interests me and why I believe this course will be incredibly insightful and promote open-mindedness, which I am a huge fan of. (I’m also human and guilty of being close-minded as well at times….and there’s the transparency).

As I continued to think about this blog post more I found myself often returning to religion and the various beliefs of individuals. To hopefully make a long story short, I had a friend in college that (at the time) had different religious beliefs than myself. Due to the fact that we had a mutual respect for one another and our opposing beliefs, as well as a certain level of open-mindedness, our conversations came to be some I have valued most in my lifetime and a friendship I treasure to this day.

I believe this class will ask us many question and provide various scenarios that we will have very different opinions about. I believe keeping an open mind and being willing to discuss a variety of viewpoints can facilitate growth, both professionally and personally…and that is why ethics is of interest to me, in particular this course and the discussions.

Leave a Reply

